If I did it again… I’d have a vintage wedding!

I come across so many inspiring vintage weddings, and I often think how different our wedding would be if we got married again.  Don’t get me wrong, our wedding was beautiful, and one of the best days of my life, but if I did it again, I’d definitely have a vintage theme (rather than contemporary/modern).

So today I thought I’d indulge my fantasies, and come up with some inspiration for my dream vintage wedding (and yes, in my fantasy, money is no object!).

Ahhh, looking at this post now I’ve finished – think I’m going to have to ask my husband if we can get married again…

1. Colours.  The colour scheme would be in a range of browns, cream and gold, latte, mocha, dark brown with a touch of black for contrast.

2.  The invitations.  Invitations set the tone (colours and theme) for the whole wedding – when you send out your invites you’re giving guests the first hint as to what they can expect.  For true style, you can’t go past letterpress stationery, and I love this set I found on Etsy from the seller Chauhie.

3.  The Dress.  The most important element for any bride is of course the gown. This stunning dress is from Yolan Cris and features cap sleeves and intricate beadwork overlay.  Now bearing in mind, I’d have to lose a few kilos to fit into this dress, but this is my fantasy after all!

4. The shoes – I’m loving these Badgley Mischka shoes – nothing too fussy given the heavily beaded gown.

5.  The bridesmaids.  The bridesmaids dresses would have a vintage feel, in a mocha colour – although the dresses would be different styles and colours to reflect the bridesmaids’ personalities.

6.  The bouquet – I’d have the gorgeous silk flower and feather bouquet by Vintage Wedding Style of course!

7.  Tablecentres. I previously featured these lovely tablecentres on the blog.  Created by event planner Linda Pittelli of Eventful Designing they have a charming vintage/shabby chic/Parisian feel.  Head on over to Junebug Weddings for all the gorgeous details.

8. The bomboniere/favours.  Again from Vintage Wedding Style, these vintage style boxes and wraps are sweet shabby chic with their lace and ribbon and would work well with the tablecentres – I’d probably fill them with chocolates.

9.  The cake.  This gorgeous cake by Zoe Clark Cakes features an antique lace design, satin bows and vintage brooches.

Leave a Reply

