Why I love vintage weddings…

I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately, what is it about vintage weddings that I love so much?  Is it the sense of old-fashioned romance?  Is it the colours?  Or the timeless style?  Probably all of the above.  I think vintage style hints at an elegance and romance from a bygone era that is hopelessly romantic.

Today I thought I’d have a look at some ‘proper’ vintage weddings (you know, weddings from the past!) to check out their gorgeous style.

I have always adored Grace Kelly for her elegance and style, so it’s not surprising that she was stunningly beautiful on her wedding day in 1956.  I love her lace veil, the lace detailing on her gown and the simplicity of the ivory skirt.

The 1920s were all about the ‘flapper’ style, and I particularly like the headpieces and veils from this era.

Princess Margaret looked stunning at her wedding in 1960 – again a gown that is simple and classic.

Apart from the stunning dresses, other elements that can be included in vintage styled weddings that I love include diamantes and beads, pearls, pastel colours, lace, feathers, old frames and birdcages.

I’ll leave you with some of my favourite inspiration boards…

Leave a Reply

